The Executive Branch

The Executive Branch of the United States of America represents the President of the United States, and vests in them the executive power of the federal government. This power is usually delegated to the presidents cabinet members.The president is limited to a maximum of two four-year terms. If one term is interrupted, and the president does not serve a full four years, they may only run for one additional four-year term..There have been 45 presidents, and of those only 10 have served for less than two terms .

The president serves as both the head of state and government, and the commander-in-chief of the military. As stated in the Constitution, the president must “take care that the laws be faithfully executed,” and “preserve, protect and defend the Constitution.” The remainder of the executive branch, over which the president presides, consists of presidential cabinet who are delegated presidential powers, about 5 million people, including 1 million active service men and women, and 600,000 postal service workers.

The president’s powers include the ability to approve (sign) or reject (veto) legislation that has been approved by the Legislative Branch. If they sign, the legislation is passed into law. If they reject the legislation, a two-thirds majority of the Legislative Branch must agree to pass the legislation into law against the president’s veto. The President is also responsible for signing treaties with foreign nation, though the ratification of the treaty still requires a two-thirds majority in the House and Senate. The president may not dissolve Congress or call special elections, but does have the ability to pardon criminals, releasing them of prior convictions for offenses committed against the federal government. The president is also responsible for appointing Supreme Court Justices and federal judges.

The president may be impeached by a majority in the House and removed from office by a two-thirds majority in the Senate for reasons including “treason, bribery, or any other high crimes and misdemeanors. Only two presidents have been successfully impeached - Andrew Johnson and Bill Clinton - and both were later acquitted by the Senate.

The Vice President is the second-highest official in the federal government, second only to the President. The Vice President serves as the head of the Senate, and is allowed to vote in the event of a tie. In the event the President resigns his office, through death or otherwise, the Vice President is the first in line to take the office of the President. This has happened 8 times in the history of the United States.